Still behind

“And remember, we can talk about making a difference, we can make a difference, or we can do both. — Debbie Millman 

Quest 2016.  Day 9.  I am moving through this journey as though in some deep and daydream-y trance.

Don’t ask me why because I couldn’t tell you.  I just am.  8816505_s

I wish it was the fact that I was savoring things. I’m not  really savoring.  I’m mostly feeling behind, unable to keep pace, running out-of-breath, longing for rest.

Okay so the the 3rd prompt was offered by Debbie Millman of Design Matters.  (Her brand’s tagline – pasted above – caught my attention.  Such interesting resonance with to my Quest 2016 post and UBS ad serendipity yesterday – check it out)

Theme: Get Clear with Yourself
Visionary: Debbie Millman

Prompt:    “How would you do business as unusual in 2016 if you knew – no matter what you chose – you would not fail? “

Good question.

I could quit my job in finance and open the coffee/flower shop I’ve daydreamed about for years.  (The place is called All Good Things and so many people enjoy hanging out and creating art there.  I’d brew Peets coffee and serve it in heavy,curved mugs perfect for holding, sipping, savoring.  I’d  serve baked-from-scratch orange marmalade muffins and sell fresh flowers ‘just because’ for  $5 a bunch (like I used to buy when I was a girl).  But you know what?  This is really just a fantasy.  It’s not how I would choose to do business as unusual.

If I were to do business as unusual in 2016, I would open the moving box of writing that is in my closet (though I packed it with the intention of opening it on Mother’s Day 2016).  I would open it early.  I would take out one piece every morning.    I would type it.  Maybe I would post it here. Maybe I would share it with you. Even though it isn’t perfect.  Even though I don’t think I am supposed to do that (it should have a story arc and be professionally edited, be represented by an agent, then published by some big NYC firm, have a pretty book cover, be on a shelf somewhere.)  So I’m not sure where I am going with this . . . but that would be business as unusual, for sure.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Still behind

  1. I would love it if you would type up what’s in that box and share it here or better yet in your marvelous cafe with orange marmalade muffins and yummy coffee. All of it sounds delicious! And I think that it would be lovely to read – in all of its perfect imperfection – before anyone in NYC rushes to publish it. I would gobble all the words right up – along with the muffins! :O) So glad that I’ve found you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

